Family time

13 Aug

Sadly, my grandmother passed away a few days ago, and my daughter and I are travelling to my home country to attend her funeral. I’m not upset as such, more filled with regret at not having visited more often. At the same time, I’m full of admiration for this woman who raised six children single-handedly, worked on her family’s farm and, after she left her village in disgust at its inhabitants’ rightwing leanings, in a busy city hospital kitchen, and spent large stretches of time living with five of her grown-up children in order to provide childcare for the grandchildren. My grandma didn’t have the easiest life, but despite all societal and personal obstacles reached the grand age of 90, an example of her strength and willpower. I will always have fond memories of my time with her. When we return, I shall bake a marzipan cake in her honour (her speciality).

Leave a Reply

